Arbor Day honors Collins

Posted on April 18, 2014 by Sonoma Valley Sun

Sonoma County Parks Commissioner Karen Collins will be awarded the Rotary Club of Sonoma Valley’s Conservation Award as part of Sonoma’s Arbor Day Celebration on the Plaza, Friday, April 25 at 11 a.m.

The annual ceremony will include presentations by Bill McNamara, executive director of the Quarryhill Botanical Garden, on the critical importance of preserving trees on the Plaza and throughout Sonoma Valley; and Breck Parkman, Senior State Archaeologist, on “The Joy of Trees: Honoring the Progeny of Jack London’s Oak.” Seedlings from this historic oak tree will be on display.

First District Supervisor Susan Gorin will be the guest of honor, joined by Sonoma City Mayor Tom Rouse and members of the city council. Sonoma Musicians Mark Willson and Mario Ramirez, poet Lin Marie deVincent, Sonoma Woman’s Club and students from Crescent Montessori School, will display their latest Plaza project. Refreshments will be served.

The public is welcomed and encouraged to join in festivities, highlighted with the sixth annual Conservation Award, which is rooted in honoring significant long-term volunteer conservation efforts by Sonoma Valley citizens. Recent recipients include the late Bob Cannard Sr, Tom Whitworth, John Donnelly, Pat Eliot and Mickey Cook and, in 2013, Tom Rusert.

Collins serves on the Board of the Valley of the Moon Natural History Association, and the advisory councils of both the Sonoma Land Trust and Bay Area Ridge Trail.

The first official City of Sonoma Arbor Day celebration was in 2009 with the planting of a tree on the Plaza of an Arbutus ‘Marina,’ commonly known as the strawberry tree. The event is produced by the City of Sonoma, along with the Sonoma Valley Visitors Bureau and Sonoma Birding.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>